Home / Classic Hits News / Songs by Alice Cooper, Moody Blues, Donovan Featured on "Dark Shadows" Soundtrack


Alice Cooper not only makes a cameo in the upcoming Tim Burton film Dark Shadows, he also contributes two vintage songs to the movie’s original soundtrack, which will be released this Tuesday. 

The album’s track list includes the shock rocker’s “No More Mr. Nice Guy” and “Ballad of Dwight Fry,” as well as classic tunes by The Moody Blues, Donovan, The Carpenters, Barry White and T. Rex.  It also features a spoken-word rendition of Steve Miller‘s “The Joker” by the film’s star, Johnny Depp.

Dark Shadows, which hits theaters on May 11, is a skewed adaptation of the popular gothic soap opera that aired from 1966 to 1971.  As previously reported, Cooper will appear as himself in the movie, in a scene that will feature him rocking out at a party at the mansion of lead character Barnabas Collins — portrayed by Depp.

Here is the complete track list for The Dark Shadows: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack:

The Moody Blues, “Nights in White Satin”
Danny Elfman, “Dark Shadows — Prologue”
Iggy Pop, “I’m Sick of You”
Donovan, “Season of the Witch”
The Carpenters, “Top of the World”
Barry White, “You’re the First, the Last, My Everything”
T. Rex, “Bang a Gong (Get It On)”
Alice Cooper, “No More Mr. Nice Guy”
Alice Cooper, “Ballad of Dwight Fry”
Danny Elfman, “The End?”
Johnny Depp, “The Joker”

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio


Recent posts in Classic Hits News