Home / Classic Hits News / Bob Dylan Rarity Included on Soundtrack to New Coen Brothers Movie, "Inside Llewyn Davis"


A previously unreleased Bob Dylan song titled “Farewell” is among the tunes featured on the soundtrack to the upcoming Coen brothers film, Inside Llewyn Davis.  The tune, which the folk legend reportedly recorded in 1963, also can be heard throughout a new trailer for the movie.

Inside Llewyn Davis tells the story of a struggling singer/songwriter trying to launch a music career in 1961 in the same New York City folk scene from which Dylan emerged.  The soundtrack boasts mainly new recordings performed by the film’s star, Oscar Isaac, and some fellow cast members, including Justin Timberlake and Mumford & Sons frontman Marcus Mumford.  The album also features songs by folk veterans Dave Van Ronk and Nancy Blake.

The Inside Llewyn Davis soundtrack was co-produced by T Bone Burnett, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen.  The album will be released on September 17, while the film is expected to arrive in theaters on December 6.

Here’s the complete track list:

“Hang Me, Oh Hang Me” — Oscar Isaac
“Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song)” — Marcus Mumford and Oscar Isaac
“The Last Thing on My Mind” — Stark Sands
“Five Hundred Miles” — Justin Timberlake, Carey Mulligan and Stark Sands
“Please Mr. Kennedy” — Oscar Isaac, Justin Timberlake and Adam Driver
“Green, Green Rocky Road” — Oscar Isaac
“The Death of Queen Jane” — Oscar Isaac
“The Roving Gambler” — John Cohen with the Down Hill Strugglers
“The Shoals of Herring” -– Oscar Isaac
“The Auld Triangle” — Chris Thile, Chris Eldridge, Marcus Mumford, Justin Timberlake and Gabe Witcher
“The Storms Are on the Ocean” — Nancy Blake
“Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song)” — Oscar Isaac
“Farewell” — Bob Dylan
“Green, Green Rocky Road” — Dave Van Ronk

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio


Recent posts in Classic Hits News